SPORT - High-speed spill in Offshore Superboat Championship Final

Presented by
  • Trade-A-Boat

AOPC_img_qatar96flip_ss.jpg AOPC_img_qatar96flip_ss.jpg
mustang_img_Sandy_ss.jpg mustang_img_Sandy_ss.jpg

Sandringham Offshore Superboat Race, Sunday, Nov 21

SPORT - High-speed spill in Offshore Superboat Championship Final
SPORT — High-speed spill in Offshore Superboat Championship Final

In near perfect conditions on Port Phillip Bay, the Mustang Class 1 entry of Tom Barry-Cotter and Pal Virik Nilsen has powered home to win yesterday’s Round Six of the Sandringham Offshore Superboat Race and claim the 2010 Championship title.

Queensland-based Mustang and stablemate Maritimo, owned by builder Bill Barry-Cotter, were the only two craft from the Class 1 field to complete the race. ACME and Trojan Steel were forced to retire with mechanical dramas and the international entry of Qatar 96 flipped in spectacular fashion in the early stages of the race.

Eight-time world champion throttleman Steve Curtis MBE and pilot Ali Al-Neama were both ejected from the Qatar 96 cockpit into the water, without injury, as the 2000hp boat flipped, landing upside down and halting the race.

Officials restarted the final race of the 2010 season adopting a shortened 30-minute format.

ACME teammates Christopher and Andrew Searle, went into the final race just 125 points ahead of Mustang but lost all claim to the title on the fourth lap retiring due to mechanical reasons.

Mustang went on to hold off a challenge from Maritimo finishing just four seconds ahead and completing 10 laps of the 5.13nm circuit.

It was the fourth consecutive race win for Mustang, the points firming a 275-point lead over ACME in the overall Class 1 Championship.

Seven other boats across three classes also contested yesterday’s race.

In the Supercat Lite 1050hp class, The Good Guys entry of brothers Brendan and Christopher Frier took a round win to close the gap on overall Class winners Global Racing to 900 points.

The competition between Saracen and SUV Dodge Ram continued today in the Supercat Outboard 600hp Class, despite the SUV Dodge Ram team going into the round with the Class win already secured.

Saracen’s home ground advantage proved too strong, taking the round win after a disappointing result in Geelong last week.

Mick Walker and Gary Smith in F.G.I. will take home The Shark Cat Trophy for the Supercat Outboard Lite 400hp Class, winning the round ahead of the Berwicks entry of Ian Harris and Graham Fraser.

Often referred to as "Formula One on Water", these high-tech boats are capable of speeds ranging between 84kts and 135kts, with the Class 1 boats sporting a price tag of $1million each.

"It was a dramatic end to what has been an equally dramatic season and it is disappointing that things ended as they did for our overseas visitors," said race director Russell Embleton.

"Healthy competition is a must in any sport and it was great to see the Class 1 Championship go down to the wire.

"It was also pleasing that despite the overall results in the other classes determined prior to round six, spirited competition was still alive and well on the Bay," he said.

Sandringham Offshore Superboat Race
Round Six Results

Class One
1. Mustang
T. Barry-Cotter / P.Viriki Nilsen
475 points
2. Maritimo R.Willaton / P.McGrath
300 points
C.Searle / A.Searle
75 points - DNF
4. Trojan Steel S.Isherwood / C.Craven
75 points - DNF
5. Qatar 96
S.Curtis / A. Al-Neama 75 points - DNF

Sandringham Offshore Superboat Race
Round Six Class Winners
Supercat Lite - The Good Guys
M.Beil / S.Jellick
Supercat Outboard
- Saracen
A.Defina / N.Craven
Supercat Outboard Lite -
M.Walker / G.Smith

2010 Australian Offshore Superboat Championships Overall Class Winners
Class One
- Mustang
T.Barry-Cotter / P.Virik Nilsen
Supercat Lite - Global Racing
M.Beil / S.Jellick
Supercat Outboard - SUV Dodge RAM
C. Davis / B.Luhrmann
Supercat Outboard Lite - F.G.I. M.Walker / G.Smith

2010 Australian Offshore Superboat Championship Class One Overall Results
1. Mustang
T. Barry-Cotter / P.Viriki Nilsen
3125 points
C.Searle / A.Searle
2850 points
3. Maritimo R.Willaton / P.McGrath
2800 points
4. Qatar 96
S.Curtis / A.Al-Neama
2250 points
5. Trojan Steel
S.Isherwood / C.Craven
1988 points

Photos: Qatar 96 inverted, after flipping during Round Six of Offshore Superboat Championship; Mustang, the 2010 Australian Offshore Superboat Champion boat.


Want the latest stories delivered straight to your inbox? Sign up for the free TradeBoats e-newsletter.