NEWS - BIA NSW's new 'skipper'

Presented by
  • Trade-A-Boat

Boating Industry Association of NSW elects new president

NEWS - BIA NSW's new 'skipper'
NEWS — BIA NSW’s new ‘skipper’

Darren Vaux was this week unanimously elected as the new president of the Boating Industry Association of NSW at the AGM.

Vaux, the owner and operator of Empire Marina Bobbin Head, has already served on the board for the last six years and also holds the position of vice president of the Marina Industries Association of Australia.

"I am very excited about taking on this challenge and see a bright future for our industry," said Vaux.

"Our Association has had tremendous success over recent years under its retiring president Doug Olding and I plan to build on the board’s and BIA teams’ achievements under his control.

"It is evident that the three core strategies we need to focus on are the growth participation in recreational boating, government advocacy and support for our members, and finally, professional development and career pathways.
Each of these objectives will lead to numerous strategic activities and programs that will allow our industry to move into its next stage of development," he said.

Vaux is also well-known for his commitment and chairmanship of the new Boating Industries Alliance of Australia, which has brought all BIAs around Australia together to tackle national issues.

Olding has served 15 years on the board as treasurer and five years as president. Doug will remain on the board as immediate past president for a further 12 months to assist with a smooth transition.

Also leaving the board after 21 years of service to the industry will be Richard Pym.
He has been a director since late 1990 and during this time served as vice president for nine years, handing over the position to Simon Cook in 2010.

Roy Privett, the Association’s general manager said, "We welcome Darren as president and look forward to his vision and guidance. Over the years, our board has been stable and provided tremendous support to our team."

The board in its entirety consists of: Darren Vaux president, Simon Cook vice president, Doug Olding immediate past president, Alan Blake treasurer, and Jon Hunt from general membership.

Representing the various divisions will be Alan Steber – Boat Manufacturers Division, Matt Hundleby – Marinas, Michael Jarvin – Brokers, Bill Breakspear – Marine Mechanics, Terry Wise – Sailing, Paul Burgess – Shipwrights and Boatbuilders, and a new member to the board is Ken Bullen representing Trailer Boat Retailers.

Under the constitution of the association, to allow for a fair representation of the industry, each of the division’s chairmen holds a seat on the board.

The Boating Industry Association of NSW was incorporated in 1970 and has almost 600 corporate members and 250 associate trade members.

For more information, visit

Photo: Darren Vaux takes over the helm of the Boating Industry Association of NSW.


Want the latest stories delivered straight to your inbox? Sign up for the free TradeBoats e-newsletter.