Sydney Hobart and Round the World Yacht Races

Presented by
  • Trade-A-Boat

The 2012 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race will start on the 26th of December and take place on Sydney Harbour, the Tasman Sea, Storm Bay, and the Derwent River. This annual yacht sailing race has become an integral part of Australia’s summer sporting calendar, with huge public interest and unrivalled media coverage.

Sydney Hobart and Round the World Yacht Races
Sydney Hobart and Round The World Yacht Races

The Cruising Yacht Club of Australia in partnership with the Rolex Sydney Hobart yacht race has become an authority on world yacht racing, ensuring the highest standards for yacht race entry, sea safety, and communications. The Australian Cruising Yacht Club boasts a string of ocean yacht racing accomplishments, being victorious in the America's Cup, Admiral's Cup, One Ton Cup, Kenwood Cup, the Fastnet Race, and the BOC Challenge solo around the world yacht race.

Another around the world yacht race has recently made headlines, with the most competitive fleet ever challenging for the Volvo Ocean Race title, running the world's longest and most difficult ocean yacht race. Included among the crew members on board each of the six Volvo Open 70s were world champions, America's Cup yacht race winner, and Olympic gold medallists.

Sailors from 15 nations, including New Zealand, Australia, France, Spain, United States, Great Britain, Ireland, South Africa, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, Germany, Norway, Brazil, China and Belgium competed in this 2011-12 round the world yacht race. The first sole Chinese contestants, Team Sanya, and the first UAE entry, Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing, were among the sailing race entrants, with the French making a return to this around the world yacht race with the Groupama sailing team led by Franck Cammas.

The Volvo Ocean Race consisted of nine legs, with a strong, well prepared and at times fearless sailing team Groupama finishing as the eventual winners on 250 points. Second in this around the world yacht race was CAMPER with Emirates TeamNZ on 226 points, closely followed by PUMA Ocean Racing by BERG with 220 points. Team Telefónica finished fourth on 209 points, with Abu Dhabi Ocean Racing fifth on 129 points and Team Sanya reaching the finish line sixth with 50 points.


Want the latest stories delivered straight to your inbox? Sign up for the free TradeBoats e-newsletter.